About Me

I am the common-law wife to a wonderful man (Maelduin), who has lead me faithfully for fourteen years. I am also the mother of six wonderful children who range in age from four to twenty-one years old. I am also the grandmother to two beautiful Little Men, born in December of 2011 and August of 2013.

We utilize many non-traditional parenting methods. I began cosleeping with my oldest, a “million” years ago, because I felt that we both slept better. We coslept with our youngest until he was almost four years old. I breastfed all but the oldest, and believe whole-heartedly in exclusive, extended breastfeeding and child-led weaning. I have worn them all, starting with the oldest back when I was too young to know it was good for her. I just knew it made my life easier! They were all, at least partially, cloth diapered. They are not (or only partially) vaccinated, our boys are intact, and we avoid medication whenever possible. However, Venture Scout (16yo dd) and I are both asthmatics with seasonal and medicinal allergies, and Scout (13yo ds) and I battle migraines, so we use some medications. We limit caffeine, sugar and violence in our home. We try to discuss, rather than dictate, rules and provide as much child-autonomy as possible. Our children are currently happily attending the local public school, but we have home-schooled and they have attended parochial school. We believe that learning happens continually and fluidly throughout life.

Lil’ Mama (21yo dd) was a happy, healthy hospital birth with necessary medical interventions. The next three were happy natural hospital births, two with Certified Nurse-Midwives. Two were c-sections, one because of breech presentation, and one because our local hospital does not allow VBAC, and I preferred a c-section with my doctor to traveling almost 100 miles to attempt a VBAC.

We live in a small town in southeastern Iowa. I am on the Board of Directors of the local soccer club in which our children play. I knit, crochet, sew, do needlework, and pursue artistic expression through a myriad of other mediums. Many, but not all, of our children also do these handcrafts. We are actively involved in Boy Scouts, Venture Scouts, Girl Scouts, American Heritage Girls, 4-H, theatre, music, and art, and volunteer our time whenever possible. I am a faithful donor of A- blood.

I currently work outside the home as the primary wage earner for our family. I have also been a full-time stay-at-home-mother, a work-at-home-mother, and a single mother working outside the home. M’duine is a full-time stay-at-home father with a passion for web design and all things tech-related.

You can read my full Disclosure Policy, get Contact Information, and view my PR/Advertising & Media Kit on these pages.

You can read about the meanings of our children’s names and why we chose them here.

Advertisements

You must be logged in to post a comment.

%d bloggers like this: