OSIS Dust It *review*

One of the products I received in the Spring Fever VoxBox was a bottle of Schwarzkopf Professional OSiS+ Dust It Mattifying Powder.

20130612-195025.jpgI had no idea what a “mattifying powder” was, so I went straight to the great god, Google, for the answers to my Ultimate Question of the Moment. After about five minutes of YouTube videos, I was concerned! Any of you who know me in real life, or have seen a picture of even the tiniest bit of my hair outside the severest of hair knots, know that I have some seriously thick, course Type 3A/3B curls (more B than A, really). I stared at the bottle.

20130612-195045.jpgI watched more YouTube videos. I opened the bottle.

20130612-195506.jpgI watched non-English YouTube videos. I shook a little of the powder into my hand. I visited the Schwarzkopf Professional USA website and read some more about Dust It. I stared at the bottle some more and pondered my Ultimate Question: “How am I going to test and review this product?! I can’t put it in MY hair and do what the stylist did with the model’s hair in that video. I’ll have to shave my head, because I’ll never be able to get a comb through my dreaded locks again!” </sigh> </moan> Gloom, despair, and misery on me. </end pity-party> My standard hair-related attitude is, “It’s JUST hair. It’ll grow out,” but the panic and dread were beginning to drown my generally laissez-faire hairitude.

Then it occurred to me! “Why did it take so long,” you ask? “We may never know,” says The Wise Old Owl. (mmm … now I want a Tootsie Pop!) I have captives child-models! My youngest daughter has this strange hither fore unknown hair type (at least in this family). I think people (with hair that isn’t dangerous to small children) call it “straight.” It would probably take a professional statistician and a world-renowned geneticist a very long time to figure the odds on m’duine and I producing a child with hair this straight. My stylist has training, years of experience, a salon full of products and heat-related torture devices tools; and she can’t get my hair as straight as Boo’s. I spent years just trying to figure out how to keep a hair-binder on a ponytail in that stuff. Now, I’m a little ashamed to say, I cut her hair with the same military trimming technique that I use on the boys’ hair. The only difference is that I use a guard on the clippers for her. When done, it falls into an adorable, face-framing pixie cut, but that’s all it does. Fall, and lay there. There isn’t enough hair spray in the known universe to put any volume in her hair.

So I drafted her asked her if she wanted me to do her hair. She actually really likes it when I do her hair. When she had longer hair she would have me put it up in sponge rollers, which she would sleep in all night, just so she could wake up with “curls like you, mommy.” They always fell by lunchtime, but she was happy for the morning. So I sprinkled some Dust It in her hair. I did several small partings with a rat tail comb and applied Dust It to each section.

20130612-195528.jpg

Then I scrubbed it around on her roots and voila, she had volume!

Then I moved on to my next victim middle son (Mohawk Boy). He has 2C/3A hair with a long curl pattern, so it gets curlier as it grows out. It is currently two to three inches long.

I used the same application method with his hair, and then combed it and used my hands to try and make it stick up in a classic, pointed mohawk. I wasn’t especially happy with the results, but it’s better than it normally turns out, so that’s something. For whatever reason, I decided to re-shave the sides of his head after I fixed the mohawk. My mind doesn’t always follow the most linear of paths.

Sometime soon (maybe this weekend) I’m going to try it again. However, I’m going to try more of a standing-straight-up method, rather than the pointy method we normally use.

After washing it out of Boo’s and Mohawk Boy’s hair, I gathered the courage to put a VERY small amount of Dust It in my hair. The only (lack of) volume-related trouble I ever have with my hair is through this area. My hair is long (mid-back) and the weight of it can flatten it out across the top of my head, creating a lovely triangular shape when I wear my hair down. I use a few duckbill clips while air drying to combat this with just-washed hair. Unfortunately, it becomes more pronounced with second-day hair. Misting my second-day (and even third-day) hair with a spray bottle of plain water helps bring back the curls, but the duckbills don’t work nearly as well. so, I applied it very sparingly to just the roots and only on the top of my head. Think about looking down on someone’s head and drawing a rectangle, from the temples to the crown, between the “corners” of their head. That’s where I applied the Dust It. I used a gentler scrubbing technique on just the top part of my hair, and I was so impressed! It was very easy to control the amount of lift I got, and when it started to fall a bit midday, I just scrubbed my roots a bit more (I didn’t apply any additional product) and the lift came right back. I put my hair in my usual low messy bun for bed. In the morning, I resprayed the body of my hair, re-scrubbed the top of my hair (again, no additional product), and I had (almost) instant killer third-day hair that I could leave down! Third-day hair is a guaranteed messy bun around here. I normally have to spray my whole head with water, just to be able to run a wide-toothed comb through it enough to get it in a decent looking messy bun on the third day. I managed a whole week with decent looking hair because of the Dust It. Days four and five were messy bun days, but I was still able to re-scrub the top enough to keep it cute looking.

Unfortunately, it didn’t occur to me to take pictures of this Five Day Miracle, so I’ll try it again this weekend, taking a picture each morning. The long and short of it is that I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who wants a bit (or a lot) more volume in there hair, or who likes the currently chic matte look for their hair. Where was this Magic Pixie Dust during the ’80s, when I was teasing my hair more than Mötley Crüe?

It’s your hair. Have FUN with it!

Influenster

I received this product complimentary from Influenster for testing and review purposes.

You may read my full Disclosure Policy.

About silverdragonheart

I am the common-law wife to a wonderful man who has walked beside me for over ten years. We have six beautiful children, ranging in age from 20 to 3 years old. View all posts by silverdragonheart

Comments are disabled.

