Spiderman! Spiderman! Does whatever a spider can! *toddler costume review*

We’re all about dress-up in this house. We keep Halloween costumes until they fall apart and can’t be fixed anymore. We have homemade costumes. We have handmade costumes. We have hand-me-down costumes. We have costumes that have been used by multiple younglings. We dress up for Renaissance Festivals. We dress up for Halloween well past the “normal” age. We dress up in the middle of June just because we like to! We start planning Halloween costumes in June. We are intense about costumes!

You can imagine my excitement when I was approved to review an infant/toddler costume from Costume Discounters. I spent hours pouring over the possibilities, then I got my friend Sydni’s opinion, then I made my final decision. I chose the Toddler Spider Man Muscle costume, because Stud is All. About. Spiderman.

It took less than a week for the costume to arrive, and when I pulled it out Stud was so excited. The older kids were all excited, too. “Can he put it on now?” “Can he be Spiderman for Halloween?” “Should we all pick heroes from the Justice League so that we match him?” Of course it HAD to be put on. right. now.

I was a little concerned about the sizing when I chose it. Stud is trim for his age, but he’s a tiny bit on the tall side, so clothes fit funny sometimes. I ordered the Toddler 3-4 with a little trepidation. When it arrived, however, it was a perfect fit! He even has a bit of length left to grow into.

He has Camera Radar and loves to ham it up for the camera, so it’s a chore for me to get a picture of him doing anything other than standing two foot from the end of my lens grinning like a the Cheshire Cat. <sigh> It’s genetic. I did finally manage to teach him how to do the Spiderman hand-thingy by telling him to sign “I love you” and then turn his hand over.

The costume is well made, with all the edges serged and the seam construction seems sturdy. Pun not intended. I am very picky about construction quality. I sew clothing for myself and the younglings when I have time and I was the Costume Mistress on multiple theatre productions when I was in college. I actually caught a lot of flak from the Director of Theatre at the university, because I expected garment quality construction from my crew. I believe costumes should be constructed to at least the same level of quality as garments. This costume is also made out of actual fabric, not the weird nylon mesh faux fabric that most costumes from big box stores are made from.

The cute little cap was included and it has padding in the chest and upper arms to give him “muscles”. He complained a little that the costume is “scratchy”, but he doesn’t complain at all if I put a thin t-shirt on him under the costume. The bottom of the costume doesn’t seem to bother him, just the chest. That is the only complaint I have with this costume or my experience with The Costume Supercenter.

Stud has worn the costume multiple times now and it is still in good condition, without any rips or tears! I will definitely be using The Costume Supercenter in the future. In fact, I connected my laptop to the flat screen tele last night and spent almost two hours looking at costumes while the younglings (including Venture Scout) fought over who’s turn it was to look at costumes next! The have a great variety and excellent prices. And, to top it all off, they have a free size exchange policy!

They also have a twitter page. If you follow them now @CostumeDiscount, you will be one step ahead for a surprise in a few days!

Have you started thinking about your Halloween costumes yet?

I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. My full Disclosure Policy is available here.

About silverdragonheart

I am the common-law wife to a wonderful man who has walked beside me for over ten years. We have six beautiful children, ranging in age from 20 to 3 years old. View all posts by silverdragonheart

One response to “Spiderman! Spiderman! Does whatever a spider can! *toddler costume review*

