I Can’t Get Enough of Starbucks!

I grew up in the Twin Cities, but have lived in southern Iowa for almost ten years. There are a very limited number of things I miss about living in a big city. Public Transportation. Children’s Museums. Jo-Ann Fabrics. STARBUCKS!

“Hello, my name is Sarra and I am a coffee-aholic.”

“We love you, Sarra.”

Yeah, kinda sad, but seriously I was asked the other day, “What one man-made thing could you not live without?” I could survive without my electronics – I would be sad, but I could exist. I could live without modern appliances and electricity. I could even manage without indoor plumbing, we do it a camp all the time. It’s not easy, but life goes on. The one thing I can’t survive without, even at camp, is COFFEE! I wake up looking forward to it every morning. I appreciate it even more at camp, where it takes extra effort to fire-perk every pot. I can manage without the soda that I drink at home, but not without my coffee.

And I love, love, love Starbucks! No offense intended to those who love Caribou or other such coffee houses, but Starbucks is my first love. I worked as a barrista for a while and I loved it! I closed the store four days a week and opened one. I loved the late nights, the caffeine-fueled conversations, the smell of freshly ground beans, ALL of it. I didn’t even mind inventory – it was my dream job! I would do it again in an instant, if I could make the money that I make now at my desk job.

I liked hanging out with The Guys after work. We would go to a local bar, have a drink, eat some appetizers, and decompress after closing down the coffee shop. It allowed us some time to unwind, which was good for us and great for our poor sleeping spouses!

My favorite drinks haven’t changed much over the years. I’m especially fond of anything chai-based, iced or hot, spiced or vanilla, caffeinated or not. I also love me a Venti Caramel Macchiato with extra foam! Add a scone or biscotti to the order and I’m almost in heaven!

My obsession is so bad that, even though we live over an hour from the nearest Starbucks, my children think it’s one of the coolest places in the world. Scout sees a neurologist in Des Moines two to three times a year, and he considers it a great treat to be able to eat lunch at Bruegger’s and get Frappuccinos at Starbucks.

I had four of the five children who still live at home in the car after the soccer tournament two weekends ago. We ran through the Starbucks drive-thru on the way home, so that I could get a Venti Iced Chai Latte and a half-dozen mini scones. You’d have thought it was Christmas in June!

Do you have any addictions or obsessions that you have passed on to your children? What are they?

Disclaimer: The title for this post was created by the Blog Post Idea Generator at Generator Land. You can read my full Dislosure Policy here.

About silverdragonheart

I am the common-law wife to a wonderful man who has walked beside me for over ten years. We have six beautiful children, ranging in age from 20 to 3 years old. View all posts by silverdragonheart

Comments are disabled.

